E3 2015 DOOM!!

I remember when the original DOOM game was released. It was a new and wonderful thing. id created a new and interesting genre of game and we all took to it like ducks to water. I spent so many hours playing it and later playing Quake. I fell in love with id as a developer and they still hold a special place in my heart. They made me fall in love with adventure and showed me a new perspective that has shaped gaming for over 20 years.

There have been misguided attempts at DOOM games in the past and we try to forget them. This time though it looks like id has decided to go back to the things we loved about DOOM and been very true to that creation so many years ago. Watching the extensive gameplay portion of the video we can see that the focus is clearly on killing and those awesome guns.

Of course there will be multi-player as one would expect. Judging from what they’ve shown us there will get both competitive and co-operative. This makes me very happy as I usually con’t enjoy the competitive multi-player modes in games. To go with this they are introducing a simple and easy way to build out own maps and even mix up the game modes. I remember struggling to make Quake levels back in the 90s, so this will be a welcome feature. I foresee a lot of fun levels in my building future.

Enough babbling though, have a look for yourself.

~Donna

Leave a Reply

