So… I have an Oculus Rift.

dk2-product

That is to say, an Oculus Rift Development Kit 2.  Which is a Virtual Reality HMD (Head Mounted Display) – as opposed to some kind of smelly ailment cultivating product, which is what it sounds a bit like from the name.

Sony have also announced a similar solution for the PS4 available in the near future (albeit with some SERIOUSLY problematic demos)

The OcRift has been on the go for just over year, from a successful kickstarter campaign, through to a first prototype, a massive investment by some big name firms (including most (in)famously Facebook) and now a 2nd prototype (DK2) which is pretty close, I imagine, to the final product, despite protestations of still insufficient screen resolution (1920×1080, but with the horizontal split in two, 960 pixels per eye) – but given the sheer amount of horsepower to meet the idealized 75hz 1080p display, I doubt we’ll see a practical 1440p or 4K offering anytime soon.

I will be reporting on using the DK2 over the coming weeks, including re-jigging my near complete preview of Elite: Dangerous, for which EVERYTHING HAS CHANGED :O

Additionally, with any luck, I might be able comment on my own tentative haphazard steps into developing VR projects for the device.

Stay tuned…

More this:

10166365646_9d9a2ea50c_b2

 

Less this:

woman-wearing-visor-in-virtual-reality

 

I’ll leave you with the ever energetic JackSepticEye to give you an idea what we’re talking about here…

 

 

6 responses

  1. I’m very tempted to buy one myself, though I really want to hold out and buy the proper consumer kit when it becomes available.

    I’m also in ED beta (I bought Alpha premium). What do you think of the group mechanics and how they deal with the PVP/PVE issues?

    Like

    September 3, 2014 at 2:20 pm

    • My experience of other players has so far been limited – I’ve been largely unable to play since the main beta 1 started – on paper it seems relatively ok, in a pseudo “realistic” sense in terms of reporting to the “cops” and whatnot, or getting attacked in policed areas. But I need to have a closer look at it again, hence my postponing the preview – it wasnt all down to Rift-agogness 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      September 3, 2014 at 2:29 pm

  2. I’ve played a fair bit (though in short bursts to avoid getting burned out) and haven’t had any serious issues with gankers. Of course they have an awful lot of additional features to go in, so I don’t think it’s anywhere near a fair test yet. But I really like the grouping system which, if the worst happens and the All group becomes a cess-pit, allows me to join a group of like minded players and totally bypass the idiots. It’s constantly amusing to read posts on the forums from not-so-subtle wanna-be PVP gankers complaining about the grouping mechanics. 🙂

    Like

    September 3, 2014 at 3:16 pm

  3. Thats awesome 🙂

    Well suffice to say, you’ll find me out in the ‘verse as Commander Lorimer 😀

    Like

    September 3, 2014 at 3:17 pm

    • I’m currently on a break until Beta 2 is released, but there is an Anaconda slowly rusting away in a dock while Commander Slythe has his feet up in the nearest bar, drinking his millions away. 🙂

      Like

      September 3, 2014 at 4:03 pm

    • It just occurred to me; if you’d like some screenshots or video of other ships for your preview, I don’t mind posing for you. I have enough credits to buy any ship you’d like pictures of.

      Liked by 1 person

      September 3, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Leave a Reply

