Peeking In On Watch Dogs

I may or may not give up a full review of Watch Dogs, but I can assure you that I’ll be posting more videos to add to these ones. Last week I took Thursday and Friday off of work so that I could have a 4 day weekend of playing nothing but Watch Dogs. I have been waiting for a very long time for this game and I may be a little more than a little obsessed with it. This is of course more than my normal gaming obsession. I am pretty sure that someone has been peaking inside of my brain when they were coming up with ideas.

There’s something i need to say though before I go any further. Fucking stop comparing Watch Dogs to GTA!! I swear, if one more reviewer compares it to GTA I may kill someone. Yes Watch Dogs is a sandbox game. Yes it has main and side missions. Those are all traits of sandbox games, not just GTA. I love GTA, but it isn’t the be all end all of sandbox games. So stop fucking calling it a wanna-be GTA game. It’s not.

Okay, I suck at driving in any game. I rarely get to where I want to be in a very good condition. I will run into other cars and mow down pedestrians hopefully without blowing up my car. Now, driving in Watch Dogs isn’t the best. Some of the cars can be a little like driving bricks with wheels, but it is possible to get from point A to point B in one piece. Mostly this is aided by their nearly indestructible vehicles. I almost never get anywhere without side swiping a dozen cars and running head long into at least one car as I attempt to turn a corner.

I always try out the motorcycles in any game that has them cause I’m less likely to end up hurtling down the road as a fireball if the controls for it are any good. Usually they aren’t very good. This time though the motorcycles are my preferred mode of transport. Between the robustness of their structure I don’t blow up as often and I can actually go pretty fast.

Of course if I happen to misjudge an intersection I might get an impromptu flying lesson.

That second video is a little bit of showing off of the PS4 as well. Riding a motorcycle at night in the rain with a thunderstorm and it looks awesome. How could I not share that.

It’s not all about the cars though, you can steal the boats too. I have found this especially useful when I’ve managed to trigger the cops and they want my head on a platter. Solution; find a boat. I am generally very impressed by the NPC AI, but the cops are kinda stupid in this respect. Somehow they just become blind when you reach the water even if there are helicopters.

I’ll be back with more I’m sure, but for now here’s some proof that it’s not all about the videos. A lovely moody shot of our hero against the Chicago skyline.

Leave a Reply

