SOWYGO: Made of Geek

These days I’m all kinds of geek. Primarily I focus on computers and gaming, which may be slightly obvious given where you’re reading this. Before all that though, and believe me the computers go way back to Commodores, there were books. Maybe it’s not nearly as geeky now as an adult as it was when I was a kid, but somehow I doubt kids have stopped picking on the bookworms. Even as an adult I outstrip many friends in the amount that I read and buy. (and I read everything I buy)

For all the other geeky things, above it all I am a bookworm and I’m more than proud of it. When I was a kid I’d spend pretty much every waking moment with my nose in a book. It wasn’t an escape; it was exploring. It was smart. It was something else to the here and now. As an adult it’s not much different except I don’t get chastised for it anymore.  Although, I spend more on books in a year than I do on games; and trust me that’s kinda scary.

Still there are worse things to spend your money on.

Couple this with being in band in grade school and choir in high school you’ve got the makings of a good sized geek on your hands. I didn’t stick with band and I grew out of choir despite still loving to sing. As my interests changed, ever present were my book shelves. Always there was a book in my bag and in my hand. My mom is the biggest bookworm I’ve ever met, so you can see where I get it from. Some of my fondest memories as a kid/teen are of being in the huge library back home with my mom. Books are an integral part of my life and happiness.

When I moved to the UK my books were the only things that I agonised over leaving behind; I ended up leaving them with my mom. Luckily I married a man who is as voracious a reader as I am. We’ve re-built the library I left behind.

Ya know, I’m really glad for that bit of geekery because it’s educated me more on how to write and spell properly than any English class ever could’ve done.  Actually I was pretty shit on my English classes. I couldn’t tell you how to conjugate the verb in a sentence if my life depended on it. Yet here I sit writing and hopefully you have some comprehension of what I’m saying.

So, what I’m trying to say is this: Of all my geeky love of gaming and technology & computers, I am most proud of my book geekery.

I am a word nerd.

~Donna

2 responses

  1. I’m a librarian, so I always love to read about book geeks 🙂 And yeah, reading stilll is the best way to learn a language. I pretty much learned English by reading books once school taught me the basics (plus watching movies without dubbing…)

    Like

    September 13, 2011 at 5:36 pm

  2. Books are the one thing through my whole life has always made me happy.

    Like

    September 13, 2011 at 8:29 pm

Leave a Reply

