Just Another Gamer

I can’t count the times that I’ve heard stories from fellow female gamers of being treated badly as they shopped for games in shops. It isn’t often that I will talk about how I am treated in a gaming shop. I’ve never had a bad experience per se, but rarely do I have great experience either. The most I usually hope for is to not be hassled when I go shopping in a game store; which actually isn’t often.

Last Saturday though I swung by the local Gamestation store to peruse their used games and see what kind of deals they hasd running on them. Often they’ll have 2 for £20. So I’m in the shop with my hubby yammering away about what games to get and ended up with 4 games in my hands. Yep, I got suckered into the 2 for £20 as usual.

I wandered up to the counter and handed my boxes to the guy behinf the counter as usual and he turned to get the games for me. As he’s ringing me up he makes a comment about one of the games I was buying then light chit chat about upcoming games. This wole interaction took all of maybe 5 minutes, but that was 5 minutes that made me smile.

For once I was greeted with actual interest like I was just another gamer instead of being ignored like I know nothing or them directing replies to my husband who’s standing behind me. That I think always annoys me the most. Yes my husband is a gamer, but he’s not as heavily into console gaming as I am. My knowledge of console games vastly outstrips his. (To be fair his tabletop gaming knowledge is staggering.) If I say something though, don’t turn to my husband and reply; nothing annoys me more.

This counter jocky though didn’t do that. He talked to me and we gushed and chatted as he rung up my games. Never once did he treat me like I wasn’t there or hadn’t said something. In short, he treated me like just any other gamer.

This may seem like a small thing to most people, but that’s all I have ever asked for. I am a gamer and that’s all I’ve ever asked to be treated like. Sure the site is called Femme Gamer, but really that’s just a selling point to show people that we females game just like everyone else. We are females and we are gamers. Treating us like any other gamer is all I ever asked for any

5 responses

  1. Ah, I get suckered in by Gamestation’s 2 for £20 deals too! I have never had a bad experience being served. In fact, my local Gamestation is really friendly!

    However, years ago I used to work at Gamestation and I met a fair few (male) customers every week who seemed confused by my femaleness. Usually they would ignore me – for example, they would ask a question about a particular game or console, I would answer it and receive nothing but a blank look. They would turn to my male co-workers and repeat their question. It was kinda funny, but annoying and dismissive.

    There was one particular customer I remember specifically since he refused to be served by me at all. I was the only one serving at the time and he asked if there were any men around. I said no, but asked him to tell me the problem – he did and I offered help and he said that I couldn’t help him because I “wouldn’t know what I was talking about” and left the shop! (I did, in fact, know exactly what he was talking about)

    Most customers were lovely though 🙂

    Like

    August 31, 2011 at 5:08 pm

  2. Yea but I’m guessing you weren’t a dick to customers, which is always nice when you’re a game shop.

    That attitude you’ve described there with those customers; that I’ve run into with customers at work. I’m in IT and it’s not uncommon for me to answer the phone “servicedesk” and have a man (never had a woman do it to me) tell they’re having a problem and could they speak to someone to help them. I of course tell them I can and they’re always surprised. Been in IT for over 12 years and I still little has changed.

    Like

    August 31, 2011 at 10:16 pm

  3. KKLECTRIC

    I find people try to pressure me more into sales when I’m in game shops cause I clearly know nothing about them so they can play on my lack of knowledge. Bit of a shock when they find out I in fact know more than them on many occasions.

    I’ve had plenty of experiences where I’ve had them talk to my bf when it is me buying the games, I just make a comment about their rude attitude and they swiftly stop talking over me.

    Like

    September 25, 2011 at 10:55 am

    • There’s one major problem with being a jerk back at the employees; this is my local store. I can guarantee I will be going in there again.

      Plus being a jerk to a jerk, kinda would make me as bad as them,

      Like

      September 25, 2011 at 12:18 pm

  4. KKLECTRIC

    Oh I don’t think being a jerk is good at all but letting them know they’re being a jerk is the best way to ensure it won’t happen again.

    Like

    September 25, 2011 at 5:07 pm

Leave a Reply

