NGP: The PSP2

Okay before I get started on this, let’s have a look at a handy little video from the conference that shows us how pretty it is and some if its stats.

Shiny huh? I’ll give you a moment to drool. Done? Alright.

The 2 things on my wish list for the PSP2 was a touch screen and an analogue stick that didn’t break my thumb. Looks like they’ve doubled my request. There are 2 analogue sticks and they look considerably better than the ones on the PSP currently. SO no more breaking my thumb.

Now the touch screen is of great interest to me. On the DS (I do own one) the addition of the touch screen created another layer for games. It added a new way to interact with the games on a new level that made developers have to think. Zelda or Cooking Mama without a touch screen wouldn’t have been the same. Can you imagine a good RPG with a notes screen so you didn’t have to memorise important facts and clues? To take things to another level the PSP2 will have a touch screen on the front and back. Being able to manipulate the screen without your fingers in the way? Hell yes! I can’t wait to see what developers do with this dual touch screen.

So what else? It’ll have a 5 inch OLED screen. That will be nice of course and it should help cut the weight. For connectivity it’ll be 3G, Wifi and GPS enabled. That should be useful since it’ll have an Android store built into it, or access to it at least. So more than just gaming possibilities. Still I don’t need it to do things my mobile phone already does. To round things off it’ll have 6 Axis Motion Sensing system and a shit hot CPU.

There is no UMD though. I’m not sure how I feel about this.  As mentioned previously I have an irrational like of the UMD option. To move forward though I’ll just have to let it go and embrace going digital.

Sounds good. Now we just need a release date, games list and a price.

Codename NGP

One response

  1. Amanda

    I — might actually give this a go.

    I only break out my DS on occasion, though, so they may have to get some seriously hotshit titles + their back catalog that I’ve not been playing.

    I do have to empathize, though: trust me, I have refused to upgrade from my little pink DS Lite because of it’s options to play GBA games, and — that’s irrational, because I only have a couple and I play them even less then I play my OTHER Gameboy games.

    Like

    February 27, 2011 at 6:14 am

Leave a Reply

