Vanquish

I bought Vanquish on an impulse. It was on sale in the Game Boxing Day sale for £15. I had seen it at EuroGamer Expo back in October, but I wasn’t really interested as I usually avoid FPS games on the consoles.

Without some sort of lock-on mechanism, I suck at aiming manually with the analogue sticks; I’m a keyboard and mouse kinda girl. Old Quake habits die hard.

So what have we got here then? Well obviously it’s a First Person Shooter. The setting is a far future sci-fi world. The United States is at war with the Russia in space. Yea that’s all I’m giving you of the story setting. The plot is a thinly veiled story. It’s not a bad story, but it’s no Metal Gear Solid.

Story may have been thin on the ground, but the gameplay was good. Weapon changes was simple, meaning having the right weapon to hand wasn’t a hassle. You can only carry 3 guns and 2 types of grenades, but weapons for swapping out appear often. The 2 grenade types was more useful than I think I’ve ever seen in a game. You get normal grenades and also EMP grenades. Don’t forget your grenades. There is a weapon for every situation.

The controls are as uncomplicated as vanilla ice cream. They’re all rather logical and easy to master. This to me is a bonus as some developers over-complicate the controls for games and your fingers end up in a twist.  In very short order you’ll be changing weapons and firing without even thinking about how to do it. That is how controls should be. Instinctive.

There’s not a lot more I can say. Point, shoot, kill, run, rinse and repeat. It can be very hectic sometimes, but not in a bad way. This is a game that is about killing things. It’s not rocket science, but it’s been done well. For an uncomplicated good time, I definitely suggest getting this game.

3 responses

  1. Ahhh, you beat me to writing a review about this game! I completed it just the other week. I agree that the plot was thin on the ground, but the action did make up for it. there was something very satisfying about taking down those massive Argos robots in slow motion!

    For me, Vanquish was a genre done well. No, it wasn’t innovative or mind blowingly inspiring – but it did show that the cover shooter still has a lot to offer.

    How about those credits though? Don’t want to say too much because of spoilers, but that was rather odd! And fun 🙂

    Like

    February 2, 2011 at 5:52 pm

  2. The credits were awesome.

    I really enjoyed Vanquish. It wasn’t ground breaking but it was great fun and very satisfying.

    Like

    February 2, 2011 at 6:02 pm

  3. A great updatе, & one that players just like me ѡelcome
    week in & day out!

    Like

    February 27, 2014 at 1:44 am

Leave a Reply

