Red Ring of Death

So, the Xbox 360 died a death. Red Ring of Death after 5 long years of service. I know, I must have the oldest Xbox 360 ever.  Electronics lasting 5 years isn’t unheard of if it’s quality tech. Xbox 360s though are lucky if they last a year. I’ll let you draw your own conclusions. Both my PS1 and PS2 still work and the PS1 flew several thousand miles with me when I moved.

Now I’ve always said that if my 360 got an RRoD I’d just get rid of it and that would be that. I would have done just that too if it hadn’t chosen to do it in the middle of playing Fable 3. Oh yes of course, it chose to die while I was just over half way through the game. Not before I’d gotten the game or after I’d finished it, but smack fucking in the middle. This of course meant I couldn’t just say to hell with MS and the Xbox 360. Nope, needed a replacement. Somehow.

So we have 3 options. Pay the £70 to send it in and have them “repair” it. This option is otherwise known as them sending me a refurb of someone else’s RRoD machine that will RRoD on me again at some point in the future. The second option is for us to find the cash and buy a new one that not only has a bigger hard drive, but it’s also black. This option costs £200.

Of course the third option comes down to how much effort I really want to put into all of this. My final option is that I could call up their Customer Service department, yell at them and get all obnoxious American on their asses and get them to “repair” it for nothing. Yell loud enough and long enough and you’d be amazed what can happen just so that you’ll go away.

You can guess which option we went for; yes, we got a new one.

This actually brings me to the whole reason I’m here writing this. I have done the one thing that I really really hate having to do, I bought another Xbox when mine failed.

Microsoft boast massive numbers of units sold, but just how many of those unit sales are actually from people buying multiple consoles due to getting an RRoD? I know several people who have bought 2-3 Xbox 360s because they’d gotten an RRoD. The numbers are inflated by these multiple sales.

These newer ones are supposed to be less prone to getting the RRoD, but by now shouldn’t Microsoft have this issue fixed? Shouldn’t such a major fault not be allowed out in the public domain? Obviously not, but it has survived and flourished and people keep buying them

Guess I’ve no room to talk now. I still resent having to do it when I shouldn’t have had to. Sure I could’ve just paid the £70 to have it fixed. Yea it was out of warranty, but why should I be paying for something that is a known fault in the hardware and wasn’t caused by any inappropriate use of the machine? Any other company would have been forced to recall, but somehow Microsoft has managed to keep selling and selling and selling.

8 responses

  1. Ash

    I got my RRoD Xbox repaired at a local computer shop for £45. That’s your best bet, in my opinion.

    Like

    January 18, 2011 at 1:06 pm

  2. As mentioned, we opted to buy a new one. The hassle of getting it repaired was just that, a hassle.

    Like

    January 18, 2011 at 1:33 pm

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Red Ring of Death « femme gamer -- Topsy.com

  4. I feel your Xbox pain. Mine broke down twice in one year. Once from RRoD and the second time the disc drive gave up on reading discs. I’m going to opt for a brand new one this time too. Plus I can take the opportunity to upgrade to a 250Gb hard drive.

    At the moment I’m also playing Fable 3 on an xbox a kind friend lent to me! I only just started playing because it took me so long to finish New Vegas. However, 2 hours in and the game glitched on me! I can no longer interact with any people or objects. Joy.

    Like

    January 18, 2011 at 2:32 pm

  5. CrunchbiteJr

    I’d say similar problems/inflated sales affected the Sony consoles which suffered from various issues and the Dreamcast was hardly the most reliable console (just nobody bought a second one!). I’d say there is precedence for not recalling hardware although never has there been the intensity of problems the Xbox has faced.

    Like

    January 18, 2011 at 9:55 pm

  6. Actually the PS3 had one fault that I’m aware of and it’s very rare. I don’t know of any problems with the PS 1 or 2. I still have both of mine and they both work perfectly.

    So actually, I don’t think there is a precedent with the Playstations. They haven’t been plagued by the MASSIVE issue that the RRoD is.

    The Super Nintendo maybe could be set as an example cause of its reading cartridge and overheating issues, but that was the infancy of consoles. The Sega Genesis also had overheating issues.

    I didn’t own a Dreamcast so no opinion on that.

    The level of the RRoD though amazes me. Such a huge flaw.

    Like

    January 18, 2011 at 10:25 pm

  7. Failure rates on the Xbox are pretty ridiculous.

    “In the September 2009 issue of Game Informer magazine, survey results were published in which among nearly 5000 readers who responded, 54.2% of those who owned an Xbox 360 had experienced a console failure for that system, compared with 10.6% for PlayStation 3, and 6.8% for Wii.”

    My PS2 disc drive died but it took about 6 years!
    I have a SNES and a MegaDrive that are still going.
    I couldn’t imagine even a brand new Xbox working in 10 years time.

    Like

    January 19, 2011 at 4:42 pm

  8. I knew someone would be able to find survey results.

    10% isn’t so bad when you think of it. Especially considering the PS3 has the BluRay drives which are pretty new pieces of tech.

    My 360 lasting for 5 years was a pure amazing fluke.

    Like

    January 19, 2011 at 5:18 pm

Leave a Reply

