Oh Crap, It’s October

For anyone that buys games on any type of regular basis, you know that title is so very apt. Today is the first of October and so the assault on my bank account begins. I currently have 3 games on pre-order and one of them is a collector’s edition.

The battering begins with Enslaved: Odyssey to the West on the 8th.

So we have the story of the Monkey King in a sci-fi, post apocalyptic world. Yep that works for me. From what I’ve seen of the game trailers and of the demo, they’ve put in much of the Monkey King story in there. Plus it’s so beautiful that while playing the demo I actually died due to looking at the pretty instead of paying attention to what I was supposed to be doing something. Now that isn’t something that often happens to me.

Next we have the real bank account raper. Fallout New Vegas is out on the 22nd. This is the one I’ve got the collector’s edition of. I must fess up to being a total collector’s edition addict. I rarely can resist the shiny of a game I love. If it has some kind of figurine then I’m doubly screwed.

That’s my favourite trailer btw. I’ve kept it on my PS3 ever since it came out and I watch it now and again. I’ve been practically counting the day to the release of New Vegas for the last month.

The last game comes on the 29th and really I nearly forgot about it. Luckily I get paid 2 days after its release or I’d be screwed.

Ya know who reminded me? Stephen Fry. Thanks to that man’s incessant twitter habit, I was reminded that also was due out this month. Speaking of which, he’s doing voices in it along with a star studded cast. The voices in this one is truly impressive. Despite being an XBox 360 exclusive, I’m excited for it. I really enjoyed the last one.

So by month’s end my bank account will hate me and I’ll be penniless. I will though have 3 cracking fucking games that will surely make it all worthwhile.

27 responses

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Oh Crap, It’s October « femme gamer -- Topsy.com

  2. Slythe

    Looks like I’ve finished Mafia II and Halo:Reach just in time then!

    Like

    October 3, 2010 at 11:11 pm

  3. Yea you have. The game missing from that list though is Castlevania, which is also out on the 8th, but that’s going to have to wait until next month I think.

    Like

    October 3, 2010 at 11:17 pm

  4. My eye is on Borderlands GOTY edition. While it may not be a new game, it comes with early access to the Duke Nukem demo I didn’t wait 4 hours in line at PAX to play. XD

    Like

    October 6, 2010 at 7:20 pm

  5. I played Borderlands with hubby, but it didn’t really grab me and Duke isn’t enough to make me buy it.

    Like

    October 6, 2010 at 7:48 pm

  6. Slythe

    Having watched that trailer, I’ve pre-ordered Fable III. Now, should I be naughty or nice when I become king… (ponders).

    Like

    October 7, 2010 at 12:25 am

  7. I haven’t decided yet if I’ll be good or bad. I’ll definitely be a girl though.

    Like

    October 7, 2010 at 12:27 am

  8. Slythe

    Finally got around to watching the other two vids.
    Re: Enslaved, if I was making a decision based purely on the video, I would probably not bother. Nice looking art with some cool combat animations, but not much else. However reading up elsewhere, it may well be more interesting than the video shows. I hope you’ll write a review when you get your mitts on it, it might help me decide. 🙂
    As for Fallout: New Vegas, that video is pretty patchy. Some nice CGI, but the shots of the gameplay look uninspiring. I’ve almost decided not to get it.

    Like

    October 7, 2010 at 7:58 pm

  9. The fact that Enslaved is Monkey King in scifi sold me, but also playing the demo sold me. It arrived today, so I’ll get started on it tomorrow night. W00T!

    Did you play Fallout3? If not, then go play it and then come back. If you have played it then I don’t understand why you aren’t excited. It’s not about the graphics and is so about the story. Of course having some very good gameplay certainly does make for some big bonuses in my book.

    Like

    October 7, 2010 at 11:54 pm

  10. Slythe

    I missed out on Fallout3 (as 2008 was a really busy year and I was more or less living away from home, with only occasional access to my PC). I did get a good look at it as some others were playing it during lunch break at work and it didn’t look that interesting. Oh well, I’ve got a three weeks until Fable 3 comes out, I’ll see if I can get a copy.

    Like

    October 8, 2010 at 8:38 am

  11. Slythe

    Ah, forgot to say; the more I think about it the more intriguing Enslaved becomes. I didn’t spot the demo for download on my 360, I’ll have a look.

    Like

    October 8, 2010 at 8:40 am

  12. Enslaved is sitting on my desk at home waiting to be played tonight.

    Fallout is worth playing. There’s so much more to it than just the graphics. I have actually taken days off so I have more time to play it on launch. I don’t do that for sub par games. Only the trully awesome.

    Like

    October 8, 2010 at 10:23 am

  13. Slythe

    Just got back from town to see if they had a 2nd hand copy of Fallout 3, no luck on that front but nearly got sucked into buying Enslaved instead.

    Will…power… failing… 🙂

    Like

    October 8, 2010 at 11:52 am

  14. Go on then. Buy eeeeet!!! You know you wanna.

    Like

    October 8, 2010 at 12:32 pm

  15. Slythe

    Get thee behind me Donna: for it is written, Thou shalt first download the demo, and only then will thou decide if thou wilt play!

    Downloading demo now… but it takes an age 😦

    Like

    October 8, 2010 at 1:32 pm

    • Well what do you think of it? I’m in chapter 3 now and it’s just so nice to play.

      Like

      October 9, 2010 at 12:21 am

  16. Slythe

    Grrr! download @ 98%…. it’s sooooo slow…

    Like

    October 9, 2010 at 12:24 am

  17. Stupid thing. Go faster!

    Like

    October 9, 2010 at 12:27 am

  18. Slythe

    99%…

    Like

    October 9, 2010 at 12:29 am

  19. Slythe

    Finished, loading…

    Like

    October 9, 2010 at 12:34 am

  20. Come back when you’ve finished

    Like

    October 9, 2010 at 12:36 am

  21. Slythe

    Played the demo now; In some ways the demo starts out a little bit too easy, though they rapidly ramp up the spiciness when they include the time limits into the jumping segments. Nothing like the fear of instant death to make it more interesting!

    The character models and animation are good, though the main guy has more muscles than really required which makes him look as if he spends a lot of time working out at a gym instead of surviving in the ruins of a civilization (though if you can have Raquel Welch in a fur bikini in one million years BC, I guess I shouldn’t complain).

    Of course the story is just your stereotypical guy meets girl, guy chases girl through a crashing spacecraft, girl puts slave band on guys head which will blow his head off if he puts a foot wrong cliché-ridden rubbish we expect from a computer game! 😛

    Seriously it looks good, I’ll try and pick up the real thing tomorrow.

    Like

    October 9, 2010 at 1:22 am

  22. I told you so.

    Like

    October 9, 2010 at 1:30 am

  23. Slythe

    Been playing for the last couple of hours, still good.

    Like

    October 9, 2010 at 6:08 pm

  24. Slythe

    Speaking of Monkey, did you get the fantastic Japanese series “Monkey” in the US? (As here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qlo_6O1pUjU&feature=related)

    Like

    October 10, 2010 at 9:57 am

  25. We didn’t have it in the States, but I have seen it. Or at least most of it.

    Like

    October 10, 2010 at 12:21 pm

  26. Slythe

    Got Fable 3 in the mail today, that’s my weekend taken care of!

    Like

    October 29, 2010 at 9:12 pm

Leave a Reply

