Aren’t we done with the introductions yet?

I believe the answer to that question should be a “Yes”, once I’m complete!  Better late than never, I always say.

My name is Cassie Krause, and I’m a school teacher by day, mother by early evening, and a gamer by sundown.  I live with my husband Clint, and our son Dade in Kansas City, Missouri.  I play mostly tabletop RPGs, card games, and board games.  I recently purchased a Wii and am slowly getting back into the video game arena.

My husband and I run a small press RPG company called Red Moon Medicine Show.  Gaming is a fixture in our household, and every night is filled with some sort of action along those lines, that is, once our 2 year old  is down for the count. We cannot pull our dice bags out until Dade is asleep, because he will want to play too.

Monday nights are generally reserved for my husband and I to play some sort of game together.  Our current game of choice is Dominion (look for a post soon about how awesome this game is).  On Tuesday nights, we have our regular game group come to our home. I am the only female in the group, and it brings up a lot of interesting situations.  On these nights we generally play-test whatever work in progress my husband has, but we also play RPGs and board games along the lines of 3:16, Last Night on Earth, and many others.  Wednesday nights vary, and sometimes this is our night off to catch up on our favorite shows and just relax.  On Thursday nights, my husband heads out to a friend’s house to play yet more tabletop RPGs and I head towards my Wii for some relaxation of my own!  Finally on Friday evenings, we head to our some-what local game shop, Game Cafe, in Independence Missouri, and host Friday Night Role Play.  This is something that we just recently started up, and we hope that it becomes a big hit.

I’ve recently started introducing my students to RPGs, one of them being [Happy Birthday Robot!] developed by Daniel Solis.  I plan on my posts being from a teacher’s perspective about how gaming, not just RPGs, can actually benefit our youth. What? A teacher who believes gaming is healthy?  That’s just unheard of right?

I look forward to hearing what all the readers have to say.  Now, I must depart and go gather my young minds from PE!

2 responses

  1. I always thought RPGs could have helped in schools, I was fortunate enough to have an English teacher who fostered the same belief while I was at school. I’ve been trying to think of how to create some useful education oriented games for a while.

    Like

    April 5, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    • cassiekrause

      I’ve been trying to work on that myself. I develop games of various sorts for the content that I am teaching at the time, and have the pieces/components laminated so that I can use them the following year. I really want to use more creative games though, that will foster their critical thinking skills as well as problem solving skills.

      Like

      April 6, 2010 at 1:27 am

Leave a Reply

