One of a legion

Now that Donna’s announced us, we’re fit to TAKE OVER THE BL– I mean, introduce ourselves. I suppose that’s in order, isn’t it?

I’m Amanda. I turn thirty-two next week, (April 6th, exactly!) and I am a woman who has gamed since the Nintendo was widely accessible in homes. I have gamed all of my life. I have gamed with pencil and paper and I have gamed with and without dice. I have gamed with cards, books, discs, code wheels. You name it, I’ve at least handled it before if not played it once or twice. I might not have owned a copy, but I probably knew someone who did.

Right now I’ve got a PC set for mid-range gaming (with a new 5770 ATI Card shipping in to replace my old NVidia 8800 GT), a PS3, a Wii and A DS Lite, as well as an iPhone that I occasionally putter around on with a game or two when I don’t have anything better at hand.

More importantly I’m an avid tabletop gamer and that colors the sort of games I play. I enjoy RPGs, MMOs of many flavors (though currently I only play WoW). I’ve been rolling the dice since I was twelve, and there’s just no going back. I currently game with one group, though I had another that has gone on hiatus due to the recent marriage of our illustrious Dungeon Master, though apparently there are no plans to resume. I play in two campaigns currently; my husband’s Shadowrun game (Orc Shamans of wolf, represent) and in a friend’s D&D 3.5 Iron Kingdom’s game, wherein I play a young Paladin of Menoth (old faith, not the crazy new agers out in the desert) that alternate weekends.

I’m also a full time employed person type thing, and my business is something that people hate so I’m not going into the specifics. Rest assured, if I had to call you, it wasn’t a call you wanted most of the time. I am married and have only been married seven months (as of yesterday, actually) and my wonderful husband shares my gaming passion. I’m also an avid reader of both print and comics, love to write, and enjoy a passion for cooking! My posts will likely cover whatever game gripe or glory I have at the time, posts on the RPG of the hour, tabletop gaming politics and etiquette, and what married gamers are like between the dice and the consoles.

Also, I have cats. They may guest write. You never know.

3 responses

  1. Welcome to the collective Amanda!

    Like

    March 30, 2010 at 12:10 pm

  2. Welcome to the site, I look forward to hearing about the tabletop gaming from a cat’s perspective. I presume it will be all about why we don’t let them bat the dice about more. 🙂

    Like

    March 30, 2010 at 1:43 pm

  3. Ah cats – everywhere you want to be (especially when you’re gaming). My cat likes to lie across my arms as I play. Helpful.

    I really look forward to reading your posts Amanda!

    Like

    April 1, 2010 at 12:55 pm

Leave a Reply

