Buying from the PSN

I swear the PS Network Store is going to kill me or at least make me broke. I have never ventured into the Xbox 360’s store even once and was never tempted. The way they do the pricing by having you buy points always put me off. I want to know how much I’m paying up front and not some arbitrary point amount MS has assigned to thhe game.

The PSN Store got me a few months back with the additions to Dead Space. From that moment on I was truly addicted.  Every Thursday I check the store for what’s new and worthy of my attention. And almost every week there’s some game that’s been released that I want. And unlike the xbox 360 store, I actually kniw how much I’m paying for the game I’m buying.

Last week saw me give way to my carnal desire for yet another puzzle game and Zuma got downloaded. I also grabbed Asteroids on crrack, Super Stardust HD.  Me and City were istantly addict4d to Stardust and played it most of the weekend.

This week sees me Numblast, another puzzle game, and Topatoi The Great Tree Story, a 3D platformer, have both found their way onto my PS3 somehow. It’s really hard to say no to games when they cost less than a tenner. This of course is always my excuse.

As I sit here writing this I’m very impatiently waiting for Numblast to finish downloading so that I can play it before I have to start working.  I fear I may lose my life to this simple little game though. Puzzle games are seriously going to be the death of me.

6 responses

  1. I too have both consoles and yet I only keep going back and checking the PSN store. Not sure why.

    I’d love to hear what you think of Topatoi.

    Like

    July 3, 2009 at 3:52 pm

  2. PS3 use breaks down as 1)media server 2)PSN games with actual disk games probably 4th after something else.

    I’d be interested to hear what you think of topatoi and numblast. It’d be nice if they were able to put demos up of everything, but it has to be said I’m usually happy to stick money down sight unseen if it’s under a tenner because it’s not much money and I can always delete it if I don’t like it. This time I’m waiting for Battlefield 1943 next week and want to pretend to be slightly cautious with my money. Honest.

    Like

    July 3, 2009 at 4:06 pm

  3. Played the first 2 levels of Topatoi and I love it. It’s very much a platform game but so far I like it and will definitely be playing more of it.

    I usually do a little searching on the net if I know nothing about the game on the net or I check the EU Playstation blog. Usually there’s something there too.

    Like

    July 4, 2009 at 12:11 am

  4. The whole MS points thing puts me off buying anything from XBox Live too. It just feels like a lot of hassle to work out how much something is actually costing you.

    I’m seriously tempted by Topatoi as, going on the screenshots, it looks good but I’d feel happier if Sony got a demo version up on the PS Store first.

    Like

    July 4, 2009 at 2:30 pm

  5. I would personally recommend Topatoi if you like platform games.If you don’t then i really wouldn’t suggest it. I’m only 4 levels in and I really like it.

    Like

    July 4, 2009 at 9:07 pm

  6. Geekgurl

    I know Microsoft is working towards eliminating their point system. Personally I’ve only looked through the 360 store. I find the interface for the PSN store too confusing. Plus the previews on the 360 draws my attention to things I might be interested in. Maybe if the PSN did that I’d take the time to adjust to their interface.

    Like

    March 25, 2010 at 4:53 pm

Leave a Reply

