January Sales

The holiday season is over and I can get back on track with posting here.  I got a little distracted, sorry.

All of the game shops are having after Christmas sales. Marked down prices and 3 for 2 are exploding out of the woodwork. The only problem is that all of the games on sale are obviously old stock they want to get rid of. Games that no one wants or they already have. I get what they’re trying to do, but it annoys me. The good games are still marked at the normal retail price. So these sales are nearly useless to me for console games.

I did nearly buy a Zelda aluminum case for my DS in the sales. A case I really very much don’t need but it was jsut so kool I really wanted it. The only thing that actually stopped me was the mile long line and my lack of patience.

So what is coming that I really want in the way of games? Street Fighter 4 should be interesting. I’m very interested in the art direction they’ve taken. It’s so very different from the previous games and many current games. It’s a fighting game so I’ll very likely enjoy it and it is Street Fighter, a series that ate days of my life as a teen. But it’s the art that truly has my interest.

We’ll see what the new year holds for games. Hopefully it’ll be more interesting than last year. Every yea of games should be more interesting than the previous one.

One response

  1. I loathe holiday shopping, but have found ways to come to terms with that. I just expect the worst of people and only shop when I’m focused. I’m hoping that 2008 is great for consoles as my son has a 360 and I intend to find the funds for a PS3. I really think this is the year where both systems will hit the sweet spot of developers really knowing how to make them sing and dance.

    I still won’t like holiday shopping though.

    Like

    January 4, 2008 at 4:39 am

Leave a Reply

